Get an instant head start

Innovation, entrepreneurial spirit and know-how are the foundation of our successful startup ecosystem in Germany. This vibrant startup culture links members closely to each other and attracts not only investors, but also established companies as well as the business community.

EY Startup has found its task in connecting different parties within the ecosystem for an ideal exchange. We support your startup in all relevant fields such as strategic questions, tax, business development, legal counseling or financial decision making. On this page you will find out about our know-how, events, activities and EY contacts in your region.

Updates

Venture Capital and Startups in Germany 2021

2021 was the year of the Unicorns - the number of German startups with a billion-dollar valuation quadrupled from six to 24 within one year. The interest in the German Tech ecosystem is stronger than ever.

You can find more information here.

EY Startup

Early stage

Is your business plan gaining traction? We can help you with your financial reporting, the identification of state funds for your sustainability and R&D activities, support your approach reaching out to investors, and many other topics that help you to bring your idea forward. These steps involve also setting up a strategic plan for funding your startup (via private or public channels), as well as the valuation of your business model.

Formats:

Scaleup

Sales are increasing and your company is growing. We are at your side when it comes to financing the innovative development of your products and services through public funding, raising venture capital and putting growth on a sound footing. Our experts will provide you with advice and support to ensure that your growth results in sustainable business success.

Formats:

  • CEO Roundtable
  • Investor Dinner
  • Funding Matinée (selection process)

Grownup

Your Grownup grows and establishes itself as a brand.You already participate succesful in the market? We integrate you into innovation ecosystems and assist you with further financing rounds, up to a partial exit or IPO. On the way to new milestones you have to find the right answers to bigger challenges.

Formats:

  • IPO Readiness Assessment
  • Funding advice

Investors

You are looking for innovative solutions, smart investments and a great startup team? We organize networking and matchmaking events, support investment monitoring & value creation and conduct target screenings for you.

Corporates

To connect your startup to established companies is something very important, we are happy to support you here. We bring startups together with German SMEs and communicate about the establishment of cooperations, the integration of your company as well as trend analyses (EY Startup Barometer). With our help, you could find the perfect partner for your startup to participate in innovative collaborations.

Other institutions

We also provide support on the regional level and direct on your site. Among other things, we help identify suitable funding programs and apply for tenders, as well as regional activities.

Events and Workshops

Launch of the EY study “Crowdfunding” Date follows

Registration via Cambridge University

Ernst & Young GmbH
Christopher Schmitz
Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft
Mergenthalerallee 3–5
65760 Eschborn
Germany

News and Publications

29.07.2022
Despite the market uncertainties, investments in German startups remain at a high level: The total value of investments in German startups decreased by 20% in the first six months…
23.03.2022
2021 was the year of the Unicorns - the number of German startups with a billion-dollar valuation quadrupled from six to 24 within one year. The interest in the German Tech…
14.01.2022
Never before has so much money flowed into German startups as in 2021. The total value of all investments in German startups has more than tripled - an increase of 229% to €17.4…
20.07.2021
German startups received more fresh capital in the first half of the year than ever before: A total of EUR 7.6 billion flowed into German startups - more than three times as much…

Further topics

Contacts

Francesco Pisani

Francesco Pisani

Strategy and Transactions | EY Parthenon

Phone: +49 160 939 25657
Francesco.Pisani@parthenon.ey.com

Phone:

Dr. Thomas Prüver

Dr. Thomas Prüver

Head of EY Startup, TCF-Transaction Diligence

Phone: +49 30 25471 10164
Thomas.Pruever@de.ey.com

Timo Engelhardt

Timo Engelhardt

TCF-Transaction Diligence

Phone: +49 711 9881 12289
Timo.Engelhardt@de.ey.com

Christoph Niemann

Christoph Niemann

Global Compliance & Reporting

Phone: +49 231 55011 24094
Christoph.Niemann@de.ey.com

Jan Berodt

Jan Berodt

Audit

Phone: +49 40 36132 19541
Jan.Berodt@de.ey.com

Stefan Mayer-Ehrling

Stefan Mayer-Ehrling

Global Compliance & Reporting

Phone: +49 341 2526 26098
Stefan.Mayer-Ehrling@de.ey.com

Christopher Schmitz

Christopher Schmitz

EYP-Transaction Strategy & Execution

Phone: +49 6196 996 13545
Christopher.Schmitz@de.ey.com

Markus Fischer

Markus Fischer

TCF-Lead Advisory

Phone: +49 89 14331 23475
Markus.Fischer@de.ey.com

Phone:

Michael Bätz

Michael Bätz

Finance

Phone: +49 361 6589 23247
Michael.Baetz@de.ey.com

Christina Martens

Christina Martens

Marketing

Phone: +49 40 36132 18853
Christina.Martens@de.ey.com

Mandy Bilz

Mandy Bilz

Financial Accounting Advisory Services

Phone: +49 160 939 14410
Mandy.Bilz@de.ey.com

Jochen Schmitz

Jochen Schmitz

Marketing

Phone: +49 6196 996 24035
Jochen.Schmitz@de.ey.com

Phone:

Bernhard Muthsam

Bernhard Muthsam

Business Development

Phone: +49 711 9881 14152
Bernhard.Muthsam@de.ey.com

Francesco Pisani

Francesco Pisani

Strategy and Transactions | EY Parthenon

Phone: +49 6196 996 25657
Francesco.Pisani@de.ey.com

Martin Neutzner

Martin Neutzner

Tax & ESOP

Phone: +49 711 9881 17291
Martin.Neutzner@de.ey.com

Dr. Ines Fritz

Dr. Ines Fritz

Law

Phone: +49 89 14331 22580
Ines.Fritz@de.ey.com

Varinia Prüfer

Varinia Prüfer

Business Development

Phone: +49 30 25471 21522
Varinia.Pruefer@de.ey.com

Phone: